Sign In Forgot Password

Shared Shelf Book Club

Upcoming Sessions

1. Monday, April 19, 2021 7 Iyyar 5781

1:30 PM - 2:30 PM

2. Monday, April 26, 2021 14 Iyyar 5781

1:30 PM - 2:30 PM

3. Monday, May 3, 2021 21 Iyyar 5781

1:30 PM - 2:30 PM

4. Monday, May 10, 2021 28 Iyyar 5781

1:30 PM - 2:30 PM

5. Monday, May 24, 2021 13 Sivan 5781

1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Past Sessions
Monday, April 12, 2021 30 Nisan 5781 - 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Monday, April 5, 2021 23 Nisan 5781 - 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Monday, March 22, 2021 9 Nisan 5781 - 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Monday, March 15, 2021 2 Nisan 5781 - 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Monday, March 8, 2021 24 Adar 5781 - 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Monday, March 1, 2021 17 Adar 5781 - 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Monday, February 22, 2021 10 Adar 5781 - 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Monday, February 8, 2021 26 Shevat 5781 - 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Monday, February 1, 2021 19 Shevat 5781 - 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Monday, January 25, 2021 12 Shevat 5781 - 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Monday, January 11, 2021 27 Tevet 5781 - 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Monday, January 4, 2021 20 Tevet 5781 - 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Monday, December 14, 2020 28 Kislev 5781 - 1:30 PM - 3:00 PM
Monday, December 7, 2020 21 Kislev 5781 - 1:30 PM - 3:00 PM
Monday, November 30, 2020 14 Kislev 5781 - 1:30 PM - 3:00 PM
Monday, November 16, 2020 29 Cheshvan 5781 - 1:30 PM - 3:00 PM
Monday, November 9, 2020 22 Cheshvan 5781 - 1:30 PM - 3:00 PM
Monday, November 2, 2020 15 Cheshvan 5781 - 1:30 PM - 3:00 PM
Monday, October 26, 2020 8 Cheshvan 5781 - 1:30 PM - 3:00 PM

https://zoom.us/j/4475099917

Read a variety of essays, short stories, and poetry.  Then share your thoughts during this moderated online book club occurring weekly.

October 5: “First Kiss,” by S. Y. Agnon

October 12: “House of the Lowered: A Short Story,” by Max Apple

October 19: Assorted poems by Louise Glück

October 26: "Ayeka? Where are you?" Readings from Genesis, Martin Buber and Rabbi Yael Levy - plus discussion questions

November 2: Lillith: Monster or Misunderstood? Readings and poems from Rabbi Jill HammerRabbi Lynn GottliebEnid Dame and Raphel PataiJudith Plaskow

November 9: We Love Anderson Cooper by R.L. Maizes

November 16: Gimpel the Fool by Isaac Bashevis Singer

November 30: Selected Stories by Etgar Keret Breaking the PigWhat, of this Goldfish, Would You Wish? 

December 7: QuestionsA Wedding in a CemeteryHeschel essayPoem

December 14: First TextSecond TextThird Text

January 4: Elie Wiesel, selected readings on justice: Text 1Text 2Text 3Text 4;   Text 5

January 11: Honoring Martin Luther King, Jr: I Have a Dream speech: and please see Texts 4 and 5 from January 4

January 25: QuestionsSpell My Name With an S, by Isaac AsimovEveryone Has a NameThe Power of a Name

February 1: Celebrate Black History Month: Let America be America Again;  Freedom's PlowThe Rose That Grew From ConcreteThe Hill We Climb

February 8: Selected Readings: Questions to ConsiderMy Mother's Unshaved LegsOn Mt Sinai and Amistad

February 22: Jews of Iran: Text 1Text 2Text 3 

March 1: Poetry for JDAIM: Text 1Text 2

March 8: Text 1Text 2Text 3Text 4Questions

March 15: Passover study: "Oy, the Tzuris!" From Mitzrayim to Now: Psalm 118Psalm 118, commentarySefaria Study guideKol Haolam Kulo

March 22: Passover Potpourri: Text 1Text 2Text 3

 April 5: Address Unknown by Kathrine Kressman Taylor

April 12: Celebrating Israel Text 1Text 2 

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Thu, April 15 2021 3 Iyyar 5781